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PERMIT CONVEYANCE APPLICATION GUIDE 

A. INTRODUCTION

Underground Storage Facility (USF), Groundwater Savings Facility (GSF), and Water 
Storage (WS) permits are issued in accordance with the Underground Water Storage, 
Savings, and Replenishment (UWS) Program in Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 45-
801.01 et seq.  Pursuant to A.R.S. §§ 45-814.01(E) and 45-831.01(F), current USF, GSF 
and WS permit holders may apply to the Director to convey their permits to another person. 
The Director may grant a conveyance if the person to whom the permit is to be conveyed 
and the storage facility or the water storage, whichever is applicable, will continue to meet 
the appropriate statutory requirements for the activity governed by the permit.  The 
following information is provided to assist applicants with the permit conveyance application 
process.  Applicants may contact the Department for additional assistance or information 
regarding the application process. 

1. Whom to Contact to Schedule Meetings

The Recharge Program may be contacted to schedule a pre-application meeting.  Applicants 
seeking to convey a GSF permit in particular are encouraged to schedule a pre-application 
meeting to establish specific application requirements.  Applicants who have identified 
questions they want to discuss at the meeting should submit their questions to the 
Recharge Program prior to the scheduled meeting to allow Department staff to prepare 
appropriately.   

B. APPLICATION SUBMITTAL

1. Filing an Application

An Application to Convey form (see Appendix A of this Application Guide for a sample) must 
be completed and submitted when applying to convey a USF, GSF, or WS permit.  All 
applicable supporting evidence requested on the application form and the fee shown below 
must be included in the submittal.  The application fee and one original of the application 
form and supporting evidence must be submitted to the Recharge Program at the address 
noted at the top of the application form. The application form must be signed both by the 
current permittee and the new permittee. If the conveyance also includes a permit 
modification or permit renewal, an application for a USF, GSF, or WS permit must also be 
submitted with the corresponding application fees.   

2. Fee Schedule

The fee for a permit conveyance is $500. Payment may be made by cash, check or credit 
card (if you wish to pay by credit card, please contact the Recharge Program at 
602-771-8737). Checks should be made payable to the Arizona Department of Water 
Resources. In addition to the application fee, the applicant must pay the actual cost of 
mailing or publishing any legal notice of the application or any notice of a pre-decision 
administrative hearing on the application. Failure to enclose the application fee will cause the 
application to be returned. Fees are assessed in accordance with A.R.S. § 45-871.01(A) and 
Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) R12-15-103.   
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C. LICENSING TIMEFRAMES

The licensing timeframes established for the permit application process are set forth in 
A.A.C. R12-15-401. The timeframes consist of an administrative completeness review 
timeframe and a substantive review timeframe, which combine to form the overall 
timeframe of 295 days.   

1. Overall Timeframe

The overall timeframe, 295 days, is the number of days after receipt of an application during 
which the Department must determine whether to grant or deny the application. The overall 
timeframe consists of a 180-day administrative completeness review timeframe and a 100-
day substantive review timeframe. It also includes 15 days for the application to go to public 
notice after the complete and correct determination. The overall timeframe will be extended 
if the applicant receives a letter from the Department during the administrative completeness 
review or substantive review timeframes requesting additional information or if a hearing is 
held.  The timeframe will be shortened if public notice is not required. Therefore, the 295 
days may not reflect the actual time it will take for the Department to grant or deny an 
application to convey a permit. 

2. Administrative Completeness Review Timeframe

During the 180-day administrative completeness review timeframe, the Department must 
determine whether the submittal contains all the information required for a complete and 
correct application. The 180-day administrative completeness review timeframe begins upon 
receipt of an application that satisfies all of the preliminary submittal requirements. These 
requirements include the submittal of the appropriate fees and one original of the correct, 
signed application form. All supplemental materials requested in the application must be 
included in the submittal. If an application that does not satisfy these requirements is 
submitted to the Department, the applicant will be notified by phone that they have 10 
calendar days, or longer by mutual agreement between the applicant and the Department, 
to submit the missing information. If the information is not submitted within that time, the 
original submittal, including fees (if submitted), will be returned to the applicant 
unprocessed.   

a. Incomplete and Incorrect Determination

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 45-871.01(B), if the Director determines the application is incomplete 
and incorrect, the applicant will be notified in writing and will be provided a comprehensive 
list of deficiencies found in the application. At this time, the administrative completeness 
review and overall timeframes are suspended. The applicant will have 60 days to address the 
deficiencies. Once the applicant submits the requested information, the timeframe resumes 
and 15 days are added to the timeframe. The Department may deny the application if the 
re-submittal is not received within 60 days or if the re-submittal does not address all 
deficiencies listed in the incomplete and incorrect letter. The applicant may contact the 
Recharge Program to schedule a meeting or conference call to discuss with Department staff 
any questions or concerns regarding the incomplete and incorrect letter. 

b. Complete and Correct Determination

An application is deemed complete and correct when all of the information requested in the 
application has been submitted. Once an application is determined to be complete and 
correct, the applicant is notified in writing of the determination. The date of the complete 
and correct letter begins the substantive review timeframe.  
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3. Substantive Review Timeframe

The 100-day substantive review timeframe begins once the application is determined to be 
complete and correct.  The substantive review timeframe includes the public notice period, 
the objection period, and the Director’s review of the application to determine whether the 
application should be granted or denied.  In cases where a pre-determination hearing is 
necessary, an additional 120 days are added to the timeframe.  

During the substantive review timeframe, the Department may make one written request for 
additional information.  If the Department makes such a request, the substantive review 
timeframe and the overall timeframe are suspended from the date the request is issued until 
the date the applicant submits the requested information.  By mutual written agreement 
between the applicant and the Department, the substantive review timeframe may be 
extended up to an additional 74 days (25% of the overall timeframe).   

a. Public Notice

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 45-871.01(D), within 15 days of the complete and correct 
determination, or longer if requested by the applicant, the Director must give notice of the 
application once per week for two consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in 
the county or counties in which persons reside who could reasonably be expected to be 
affected by the water storage.  Any city, town, private water company, irrigation district, or 
electrical district that serves land within the area of impact of the stored water will be 
notified by first class mail.  The applicant will be notified in writing of the name of the 
newspaper, publication dates, and the date when the objection period ends.  Objectors will 
be given 15 days after the last publication date to object in writing to the proposed permit 
conveyance. Objections must be based on the assertion that the application does not meet 
the requirements specified in statute for the requested permit.   

b. Exceptions to Public Notice for Water Storage Permit Applications

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 45-871.01(E), public notice is not required for applications proposing 
to store Colorado River water if all of the following conditions are met: 

• Water storage will occur at a facility where the storage of Colorado River water has
previously been permitted.

• The holder of the storage facility permit has consented to the water storage.
• The proposed storage will not require a modification of the existing storage facility

permit.
• Colorado River water will be the only type of water stored under the WS permit.
• The new permittee has a right to use the Colorado River water.

If all of these conditions are met, the Director may issue the permit within 20 days of the 
complete and correct determination. 

c. Notice of Decision on Application

The Director will send written notice, via certified mail, to the applicant either granting or 
denying the permit conveyance application.  Written notice will also be sent to any person 
who filed a timely objection to the application.  If the Director grants the application, the 
notice will include the Final Appealable Draft Permit.  If timely objections were not filed, the 



Underground Water Storage, Savings and Replenishment Program 

Page 4 (Rev. 09/2024) 

notice will also include a Notice of Appeal form and an Appealable Agency Action Waiver 
form.  The applicant may appeal the permit within 30 days, or waive the right to appeal by 
signing the waiver form.  If the applicant waives the right to appeal, the signed permit will 
be issued without delay.  If a timely objection was filed, the Department will send a Notice 
of Appeal form to both the applicant and the objector.  If an appeal is not filed within the 
30-day appeal period, the Department will issue a signed permit after the appeal period 
expires.  If a timely appeal is filed, the Department will schedule a hearing at the Office of 
Administrative Hearings.  If the Director denies the permit application, the notice will 
include the justification for the denial and an explanation of the right to appeal the denial.

D. COMPLETING THE APPLICATION FORM

A sample copy of the permit conveyance application form may be found in Appendix A of this 
Application Guide.  Application forms are available from the Recharge Program at the ADWR 
office or they may be printed from azwater.gov/recharge.  Because the application 
requirements for conveying a permit vary depending on the type of permit to be conveyed, 
please refer to the corresponding Application Guide for that type of permit for more 
information on the contents of the application form. 

E. OTHER FORMS/PERMITS THAT MAY BE REQUIRED

1. Aquifer Protection Permit (APP)

An APP must be obtained from the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) for 
non-CAP water storage projects.  The application must be filed with ADEQ before a USF 
permit conveyance application can be determined complete and correct. A.R.S. Titles 45 and 
49 recognize different permitting procedures for USFs depending on whether the source 
water includes effluent.  Provisions of A.R.S. § 49-250(12) and (13) exempt USFs using CAP 
and certain other non-effluent waters from the requirement to obtain an APP if an operating 
permit is secured under A.R.S. Title 45.  Thus, depending on the facility’s source water type, 
the discharge may or may not require an APP issued by ADEQ.  If the source water subjects 
the facility to APP requirements, the APP must be obtained prior to any water storage at the 
USF.  Please contact the Water Permit Section of the Water Quality Division at ADEQ for 
further information.   

2. Facility Consent to Water Storage

If the permit conveyance application is for a WS permit that meets all requirements listed in 
Section C.3.b of this Application Guide for exception to public notice for water storage 
permits and the new permittee will not hold the storage facility permit, the applicant must 
submit, with the WS permit conveyance application, written consent from the facility permit 
holder for the water storage.  See Appendix B of this Application Guide for a sample consent 
statement.   

3. Long-term Storage Credit Transfer

This form must be submitted if long-term storage credits are being assigned pursuant to 
A.R.S. § 45-854.01.
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ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES 
Water Planning & Permitting Division 

1802 West Jackson Street, Box #79 
Phoenix, Arizona 85007 
Phone: (602) 771-8737 

Email: recharge@azwater.gov 

PERMIT CONVEYANCE APPLICATION:  

CONVEYANCE FEE of $500.00 DUE UPON FILING 

PUBLICATION FEES TO BE DETERMINED WILL BE 
DUE PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OF PERMIT 

PLEASE SUBMIT ONE ORIGINAL OF THE COMPLETED 
APPLICATION AND ALL SUPPORTING MATERIALS 

TYPE OF PERMIT TO BE CONVEYED: (Check one) 

 Underground Storage Facility Permit  Groundwater Savings Facility Permit  Water Storage Permit 
[A.R.S. § 45-814.01 (E)] [A.R.S. § 45-814.01 (E)] [A.R.S. § 45-831.01 (F)] 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

1. Name of Applicant (current permittee):

Mailing Address City State Zip 

Contact Person: Telephone: Email: 

2. Application is being CONVEYED TO (new permittee):

Mailing Address City State Zip 

Contact Person: Telephone: Email: 

SUPPORTING EVIDENCE 

3. If Underground Storage Facility (USF) permit conveyance, please submit the following (A – E):

A. Current Permit # 71-

B. Technical Capability: If the person(s) principally responsible for overseeing the operations will change
as a result of the conveyance, the applicant must demonstrate that the new permittee is technically
capable of operating and reporting for the USF in accordance with all terms and conditions of the USF
permit. The applicant must submit the information on technical capability described in Section III.D of
the Underground Storage Facility Application Guide as it applies to the new permittee.

C. Financial Capability: The applicant must demonstrate that the new permittee has the financial capability
to construct, operate and report for the USF in accordance with all terms and conditions of the USF
permit. The applicant must submit information on financial capability described in Section III.E of the
Underground Storage Facility Application Guide as it applies to the permittee. Except that if the facility
is already operating, the applicant must submit information based on actual operational costs of the
facility.

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

Application No.:    

Date Received:    
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D. Aquifer Protection Permit (APP) issued by Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ):
For effluent storage, the applicant must demonstrate that the new permittee will operate the USF under a
valid APP issued by ADEQ.

E. If the Underground Storage Facility (USF) permit conveyance is for a managed facility that is designated as 
adding value to a national park, national monument or state park, the applicant must submit a statement,
signed by the new permittee, certifying that the new permittee will continue to maintain the quantified,
minimum base flow and annual discharge to the stream as established in the USF  permit.

4. If Groundwater Savings Facility (GSF) permit conveyance, submit the following:

A. Current Permit #72-

B. The applicant must submit a report that describes how the new permittee will continue to meet the
requirements of A.R.S. § 45-812.01 as conditioned in the GSF permit.

C. The applicant must identify any proposed changes/updates to the Plan of Operation on file with the
Department for this GSF. Note: Changes to the Plan of Operation constitute a permit modification. If you
are changing the facility Plan of Operation, you must also submit an Application for Groundwater Savings
Facility Permit form and fees.

5. If Water Storage (WS) permit conveyance, please submit the following:

A. Current Permit #73-

B. If the water to be stored is appurtenant to a place of use, the legal description of the location of that use:

(quarter/quarter/quarter/section, township and range) 

C. A description and documentation of the new permittee’s right to use the proposed source of water. Cite the
right number, law, court decree, contract or other legal basis for acquiring and using each source of water to
be stored pursuant to this permit.

D. If the water storage permit application meets the requirements of A.R.S. § 45-871.01(E) and the new water
storage permit holder will not also be the holder of the storage facility permit, please submit a Facility
Consent to Water Storage form signed by the facility permit holder.

E. For water storage at a Groundwater Savings Facility, if the new water storage permit holder will not also
be the holder of the storage facility permit, does the new permittee agree to comply with the Plan of
Operation for the GSF permit listed in the water storage permit being conveyed with this application?
 Yes    No

6. If long-term storage credits are being assigned pursuant to A.R.S. § 45-854.01, a Long-Term Storage Credit
Transfer form must be submitted.

NOTE: If any information submitted with the original application is no longer valid as a result of the conveyance, 
that information must be identified and updated as it pertains to the new permittee. 

Required Signature Block is on Page 3 
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SIGNATURE – CURRENT PERMITTEE 

I (We),  , the current permittee(s) named in this application, 

do hereby certify under the penalty of perjury, that the information contained, and statements made herein are true 

and correct. 

Telephone Signature of owner or authorized agent 

Date of signature Title 

Mailing Address City State Zip 

SIGNATURE – NEW PERMITTEE 

I (We), , the new permittee(s) named in this application, do 

hereby certify under the penalty of perjury, that the information contained, and statements made herein are true 

and correct. 

Telephone Signature of owner or authorized agent 

Date of signature Title 

Mailing Address City State Zip 

NOTICE 

A.R.S. § 41-1030(B), (D), (E) and (F) provide as follows: 

B. An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not
specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not
constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant
of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition.

D. This section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court may award
reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action
against the state for a violation of this section.

E. A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is cause for
disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the agency’s adopted personnel policy.

F. This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02.



APPENDIX B -- FACILITY CONSENT TO WATER STORAGE 

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 45-871.01(E)(1), this letter serves as consent from ____________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ allowing 
(Storage/Savings Facility Permittee) 

_______________________________________________ to store up to ____________ acre-feet 
(Water Storage Permit Applicant and application no.) 

per year of ______________________________ at __________________________________ 
 (Type of water to be stored) (Storage/Savings Facility Name) 

in accordance with (check one)    Underground Storage Facility or   Groundwater Savings 

Facility permit number ______________________________. 
   (Facility permit no.) 

Signature:  ________________________________________________________ 
(Holder of Storage Facility Permit or designated representative) 

Printed Name:   ____________________________________________________ 

Title:  ____________________________________________________________ 

Company:  ________________________________________________________ 

Date:  ____________________________________________________________



PHOENIX,  ARIZONA 
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Email: recharge@azwater.gov
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September, 2024

This brochure focuses on the methods and criteria for conveying an 
Underground Storage Facility, Groundwater Savings Facility or 
Water Storage Permit to a new owner.   

Information on obtaining new,  or modifying or renewing existing, 
Underground Storage Facility Permits or Water Storage Permits 
may be found in companion brochures. 

This brochure focuses on the methods and criteria for 
conveying an Underground Storage Facility, Groundwater 
Savings Facility or Water Storage Permit to a new owner. 

Information on obtaining new, or modifying or renewing 
existing, Underground Storage Facility Permits or Water 
Storage Permits may be found in companion brochures. 
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