skip to the content of this page Arizona's Official Website Arizona Department of Water Resources
Arizona Department of Water Resources Arizona's Official Web Site
Securing Arizona's Water Future

Tucson AMA Perennial/Intermittent Streams and Springs

Major and minor springs with discharge rates and date of measurement, and the total number of springs in the AMA are shown in Table 8.5-5.  The locations of major springs and perennial and intermittent streams are shown on Figure 8.5-5.   A description of data sources and methods for intermittent and perennial reaches and spring are found in Volume 1, Appendix A. 

  • Perennial streams include Romero Canyon, Sabino Canyon, Cienega Creek and Sycamore Canyon. An approximately 9-mile effluent-dependent reach of the Santa Cruz River is perennial due to discharges from the Roger and Ina Road WWTPs.
  • Intermittent streams include stream segments near the eastern AMA boundary and in Santa Cruz County.
  • There are eight major springs with a measured discharge of 10 gallons per minute (gpm) or greater at any time.
  • Springs with measured discharge of 1 to 10 gpm are not mapped but coordinates are given in Table 8.5-5B.  There are two minor springs.
  • Listed discharge rates may not be indicative of current conditions.  Measurement dates are not available for six springs and the remainder were measured during or prior to 1982.
  • The total number of springs, regardless of discharge, identified by the USGS or ALRIS varies from 162 to 187, depending on the database reference.

Click to view Table 8.5-5

Table 8.5-5 Springs in the Tucson AMA

Click to view Figure 8.5-5

Figure 8.5-5 Tucson AMA Perennial/Intermittent Streams and Major (>10 gpm) Springs


Arizona Water Atlas Home

Active Management Area Water Atlas Home

Download pdf of the Tucson AMA

Colorado River

Click to download Volume 8

Downtown Tucson
Sabino Canyon