skip to the content of this page
AZ.gov Arizona's Official Website Arizona Department of Water Resources
Arizona Department of Water Resources AZ.gov Arizona's Official Web Site
Securing Arizona's Water Future
Ask us a question...Click for site mapClick to use the ADWR DictionaryDepartment Contact InformationADWR CalendarSend page to printerPlace a Bookmark hereSend a link to this pageDecrease font sizeIncrease font size
ADWR Contact Information



Office of the Director
(602) 771-8426
 
Thomas Buschatzke, Director
 
Lynne Smith, Deputy Director
(602) 771-8426 ljsmith@azwater.gov
 
Doug Dunham, Legislative Liaison & Ombudsman
(602) 364-2650 dwdunham@azwater.gov
 
Doug MacEachern, Communications Administrator
 
Michelle Moreno, Public Information Officer
(602) 771-8530 mamoreno@azwater.gov
 
Gina Culverhouse, Continuous Improvement Manager
 
Administration
 
  Human Resources
 
  Lupe Beimer, Human Resources Administrator (602) 771-8505 lrbeimer@azwater.gov
 
  Legal Division  
  Kenneth Slowinski, Chief Counsel (602) 771-8472
 
  Finance and Administration  
  Scott Selin, Finance and Administration Manager (602) 771-8508 sdselin@azwater.gov
 
Colorado River, Other Interstate and International Waters
  Clint Chandler, Assistant Director (602) 771-8659 cchandler@azwater.gov
 
Promotes, protects and manages Arizona’s entitlement of 2.8 million acre-feet annually of Colorado River water, consults on the allocation of the entitlement with the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, monitors and coordinates compliance with the national Environmental Policy Act and the Endangered Species Act as they affect the Colorado River and Arizona’s interstate rivers and streams. Monitors use of other interstate rivers as it affects Arizona. Participates in binational efforts related to water use and the nation of Mexico, including supporting efforts of the director with the Arizona/Mexico Commission
 
Water Planning
  Clint Chandler, Assistant Director (602) 771-8659 cchandler@azwater.gov
  Theresa Johnson, Administrative Assistant (602) 771-3974 tjohnson@azwater.gov
 
The Water Management Division implements Arizona’s Groundwater Code through managing groundwater in five (5) critical groundwater areas called Active Management Areas (AMAs). It does this through a variety of permits, including Assured and Adequate Water Supply, recharge and recovery, groundwater withdrawal and general industrial use, well construction, and licensing for well drillers; and planning for renewable supplies through a vigorous conservation and drought preparedness program and assessment of future groundwater use.
   
 

Tribal Issues and Statewide Strategic Planning

  Gerry Walker (602) 771-8511 gxwalker@azwater.gov
  Karen Modesto (602) 771-7705 kmodesto@azwater.gov

Active Management Areas

  Jeff Tannler, Statewide AMA Director (602) 771-8424 jmtannler@azwater.gov
  Ryan Jackisch, Industrial Planner (602) 771-8512 rjackisch@azwater.gov
  Amy Levy (602) 771-8617 aclevy@azwater.gov
  Tana Zachreson (602) 771-8610 tjzachreson@azwater.gov
   
 

Assured and Adequate Water Supply & Recharge Section

 

The Assured and Adequate Water Supply program coordinates the application process for assured and adequate water supply determinations. The Recharge program coordinates Underground Storage Facility Permits, Recovery Well Permits, Water Storage Permits, and Long-Term Storage Credits.

Staff:

  Richard Obenshain, Interim Manager (602) 771-8622 rbobenshain@azwater.gov
  Lou Bota, Hydrologist (602) 771-8542 lbota@azwater.gov
  Tracey Carpenter, Hydrologist (602) 771-8546 tlcarpenter@azwater.gov
  Tito Comparan, Hydrologist (602) 771-8547 tgcamparan@azwater.gov
  Christopher A. Jones, Hydrologist (602) 771-8592 cajones@azwater.gov
  Kym Luttermoser (602) 771-8660 kluttermoser@azwater.gov
  Joel Klein (602) 771-8410 jmklein@azwater.gov
  Diane Kusel (602) 771-8532 djkusel@azwater.gov
  Shannon Reif (602) 771-8517 slreif@azwater.gov

 

Planning, Conservation and Data Management Section

 

This program deals with issues related to water sustainability and use efficiency that are common within Active Management Areas, as well as statewide. The Community Water Planning, Drought, and Conservation Programs are also included in this section. These programs coordinate Arizona’s drought management planning through drought monitoring and the formation of local area assessment and impact groups, and promote water conservation through a statewide strategy of education, outreach and technology transfer.

Staff:

  Lisa Williams, Manager (602) 771-8603 lmwilliams@azwater.gov
  Einav Henenson (602) 771-8607 ehenenson@azwater.gov
  Pam Muse (602) 771-8596 pmmuse@azwater.gov
  Daniel Fielder (602) 771-4584 dfielder@azwater.gov
 
Engineering and Permits Division
  Peggy Beckett, Administrative Assistant (602) 771-8649 plbeckett@azwater.gov
 
The Engineering and Permits Division allocates the right to use surface water resources in a fair and equitable manner; provides technical and administrative support to the adjudication court and Special Master; oversees safety of all nonfederal dams in Arizona; manages the statewide flood warning system; and assists communities that participate in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
 

For information or assistance please call (602) 771-8649.

  Toll free number for public inquires related to New Use Summons and Filing of Claims
1-866-246-1414
 

Groundwater Permitting and Wells Section

 

This section includes Notice of Intent permitting, groundwater permitting and conveyances, general industrial permitting, compliance with well construction standards, well driller licensing, water quality and customer outreach.

Staff:

  Stella Murillo, Manager (602) 771-8594 samurillo@azwater.gov
  Michael Ball (602) 771-8640 miball@azwater.gov
  David Christiana (602) 771-8548 dgchristiana@azwater.gov
  Kevin Crego (602) 771-8609 kjcrego@azwater.gov
  Susan Montoya (602) 771-8636 symontoya@azwater.gov
  Gloria Tapia (602) 771-8613  agtapia@azwater.gov
  Paul Alder (602) 771-0369  palder@azwater.gov
  Jake Nelson (602) 771-8427  jnelson@azwater.gov
  Torren Valdez (602) 771-8614  tvaldez@azwater.gov
   
 
Hydrology/Water Resource Investigations
(602) 771-8535
  Frank Corkhill, Assistant Director & Chief Hydrologist efcorkhill@azwater.gov
  LaVonne Cain, Administrative Assistant (602) 771-4566 lcain@azwater.gov
 
The Hydrology/Water Resource Investigation Division provides technical support and services to the Department in the areas of groundwater data collection, groundwater modeling and regional water planning. Information on the various sections and online data can be found at the following locations on the ADWR website:
Groundwater Data and Wells:
  GWSI  
  Wells 55  
Groundwater Modeling: modeling@azwater.gov
  Overview  
  ADWR Models  
Field Services: field_services@azwater.gov
  Basic Data  
  Geophysics/Surveying  
  Hydrology Map Series Reports  
Regional Planning: regional_planning@azwater.gov
  Water Atlas  
  Rural Watershed Alliance  
  Statewide Planning  
 
Arizona Water Banking Authority
 
Virginia O’Connell, Manager (602) 771-8491 voconnell@azwater.gov
Terri Sue Rossi (602) 771-8670 tsrossi@azwater.gov
Tim Henley, Consultant (602) 771-8488 tjhenley@azwater.gov
Arizona Water Banking Authority Web site www.azwaterbank.gov
 
Arizona Water Protection Fund
(602) 771-8528
 
Stefanie Smallhouse, Executive Director (602) 771-8525 sasmallhouse@azwater.gov
Arizona Water Protection Fund Web Site www.azwpf.gov